The new generation of consoles is here, and the last gen is on its last legs. Looking back on the previous gen, I decided to think of my favorite games of the last generation. (Note this is MY opinion so please don’t get upset, haha. It’s my ‘favorite’ games, not the games I think are the ‘best’). These are my favorite games of last gen, by category.

(Hack n Slash) Devil May Cry 4

nero_fight___dmc4_524Of all the hack n slash games I’ve played, even the really impressive ones, none were more satisfying than the very first game I got for Xbox 360: Devil May Cry 4.

(Puzzle) Catherine

062312546552Incredibly addicting, thoroughly engaging and a little bit scary at times. Catherine was the most unique puzzle game I’ve played in a long time.

(JRPG) Final Fantasy XIII

ffxiii_wallpaper-14Breathtaking graphics and unforgettable characters. Coupled with a unique battle system, FFXIII captivated me from start to finish.

(Western RPG) Deus Ex: Human Revolution

January 29th, 2011 @ 19:11:28An exciting mix of choice and consequence, Human Revolution created a believable futuristic open world. If the future of humanity is anything like this, it’s going to be interesting.

(Racing) Split Second Velocity

split_second_velocity_video_game_wallpaper-wideMixing high-speed racing with the explosive destruction of an action movie, Split Second was one of the most innovative racing games I’ve played in a while. Intense and exciting in every race.

(Adventure) Assassin’s Creed II

ACIISmooth presentation, interesting story and fun free running mechanics. ACII is my favorite in the series, with excellent Assassins’ tomb levels and a mind-blowing conclusion.

(Tactics) Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes

wallpaper1-copy7Though recent, this game really blew me away with how innovative and exciting it can be. Blending puzzle gameplay with strategy, Clash of Heroes is tense and fun.

(Third Person Shooter) Gears of War 3

gears_of_war_3_xbox_game-HDOne of the best looking 360 games and easily my favorite in the series; Gears of War 3 was explosive and brought a satisfying conclusion to the trilogy.

(First Person Shooter) Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Victors_Write_History_by_Antimatter_RadiusMy favorite multiplayer and campaign in the series, MW2 was the complete package for me. A game that I could replay over and over.

(Casual) Peggle

Peggle_Logo_RGBSometimes you just want to relax, and Peggle was the perfect game for that. Easy, simple, very fun.

(Horror) F.E.A.R 2: Project Origin

F.E.A.R.-2-PCI’ll never forget how terrifying the first playthrough was. Besides being very scary where it counts, FEAR 2 was also an awesome action shooter with cool graphics.

(Guilty Pleasure) Dark Sector

WallA guilty pleasure due to how it’s not very great yet was kinda fun regardless. It was more of a skill based tactical shooter than an over the top experience. Not great, but not bad either.

(Fighting) Street Fighter x Tekken

Best of Season 1Maybe not the ‘best’ fighting game I’ve played this gen, but it’s certainly the funnest I’ve played and it’s the game I’ve done the most with on my YouTube. SFxT is the most honest fighting game this generation.

(Story) Bioshock Infinite

BioShock-Infinite-WallpaperPhenomenal presentation and marvelous characterization, Bioshock Infinite’s story is the game’s strongest feature. Elizabeth and Booker make this game and its ending something else.

(Platformer) Prince of Persia

Prince_of_Persia_by_ZephyrioThe reboot of the series led the new Prince and the magical woman Elika on an exciting adventure with very unique platforming. Smooth combat system and engaging gameplay throughout.

(Action Adventure) Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

LoSwallBeautiful graphics, a fun blend of different types of gameplay and stunning boss battles. Lords of Shadow is one of the most underrated games, but following Gabriel Belmont’s story is very rewarding.

(Stealth) Splinter Cell Conviction

tom-clancys-splinter-cell-convictionStylish, unique and very cool. Conviction is a stealth game like no other and a look at Sam’s personal mission. It also has one of the best co-ops I’ve played last gen.

(Most Shocking Plot Twist) Spec Ops: The Line

Spec-Ops-The-Line-ArtThis game deserves special mention for transforming a seemingly normal TPS into an experience that was executed to make the player experience a kind of hell. The ending will leave you speechless.

(Best Song) Max Payne 3

MaxPayne3The final level of Max Payne 3 introduced me to the most dramatic and suitable music for the game, and one of the best songs I’ve heard in a game: Tears, by Health.

(Best Soundtrack) Metal Gear Rising: Reveangeance

metal-gear-revengeance-cover-boxWhile some of the tracks may be forgettable, Metal Gear Rising’s boss battle tracks are not. The final boss battle theme is easily the best I’ve heard in a very long time.

(Party Game) Bomberman Live

bomberman-live1Beneath this simple, cutesy game lies a fierce competition that signifies the core of every Bomberman experience. Bomberman Live is the ultimate experience in mind games.

(Indie Game) The Dishwasher: Vampire Smile

DishwasherJust as ridiculous as the previous game, Vampire Smile was bloody, over the top, yet really well designed. A tough hack n slash adventure with sick combos and fun weapons.

(Best Graphics) Crysis 2

01_WallPaper_PreviewA game that looks good no matter what console it’s on, Crysis 2 is phenomenal to look at and fun to play too. Out of the trilogy, Crysis 2 is the most impressive looking in my opinion.

(Best Overall Game) Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

man_on_fire_by_zephyrio-d2n29sqWinning by being the game I’ve had the most fun with, spent the most time playing with my friends, and being the most important to me for several reasons. MW2 is my favorite game of last gen.

And that’s all!! So what were your favorite games of this generation? Let me know in the comments, on my Facebook or Twitter. I can’t wait to see what games 2014 brings. Follow me on Listicle to keep up will any new quick lists I make: http://www.listicle.co/list/user/profile.php?username=justicesoultuna

