My ‘Destiny: Rise of Iron’ First Week Experience

Destiny: Rise of Iron IS HERE, and I got to take the whole week off work to play it (and to rest and relax of course). Luckily, I was able to play with my friend SoRealJosh for most of the time, and we got a lot done together!

Rise of Iron’s adventure awaits.

Rise of Iron’s adventure awaits.

We fought our way through the awesome first half of the story campaign, which concluded with an incredible final boss battle. You need to see all these boss fights for yourself, because Bungie once again delivered on amazing fights. And just like that, it looks like I’m gonna become an Iron Lord in Destiny too! That is, on top of Kell Slayer, Hive Bane, Slayer of Oryx etc.

New Iron Lord, right here. And I got to keep the sword!

New Iron Lord, right here. And I got to keep the sword!

The new social space, the ‘Iron Temple’, is a beautifully rendered, snowy mountain temple, with lounging wolves around the area and everything. The view from the area is awesome, further cementing Destiny as one of the best looking games this gen.

And to be fair, the game has always been a phenomenal visual treat.

free-roam

However, the view from the top is better. That’s right, there’s a climbing puzzle within this social space, where you can climb the tall mountain to near its peak, and receive a quest-related award. Of course, this was motivation enough, but the satisfaction of overcoming what was honestly a very frustrating and obtusely designed climbing puzzle was also part of the reason to get it done. And I was right, the view from up there is immaculate.

Started from the bottom, now I’m here.

Started from the bottom, now I’m here.

Oh, and I jumped off and survived. So there’s that.

Anyway, what is Destiny without loot and objectives? Rise of Iron’s extended story missions and quests had me doing the usual nonsense (no surprise), such as grinding and waiting for RNG to be in my favor. However, the reward was some really cool Exotic weapon missions, in order to get the Khovostov 7G-0X, an Exotic variant of the starter weapon, as well as the much sought-after Gjallarhorn. I also managed to get a really cool ship called the ‘Fatal Vision’, which is definitely one of the most impressive ship designs I’ve seen thus far.

At the moment, I’m trying my best to buff up and get a high enough Light Level in order to complete the new raid: Wrath of the Machine. At the time of typing this, I’m Level 361 with all my best gear on, and considering the final Raid boss is level 380, I’ve got a long way to go. Here’s what I’ve gotten so far from beating the first Raid boss.

destiny-14

destiny-15

The Raid gets really tough within the 2nd & 3rd acts, and it’s going to take time to get the needed Light Level to accomplish the full thing. I am getting there, and each day has been worthwhile, whether I’m doing quests and Strikes, or I’m attempting the new Archon’s Forge mission area. Which is fantastic by the way.

Overall, Rise of Iron has been an incredibly fun experience. From the great and highly cinematic story missions, to the new quests and objectives, this expansion feels like a worthy sequel to The Taken King. I wonder what’s next?

destiny-13


Follow me on Twitter: @JusticeSoulTuna
Patreon: http://www.patreon.com/justicesoultuna
Donation Link: http://tinyurl.com/donateJST
Like me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/justicesoultunapage
My WordPress Blog: https://justicesoultuna.wordpress.com/
My Tumblr: http://justicesoultuna.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

